• Search
  • for:
Research Databases

Research Databases

Looking for magazine and journal articles? Most journals and magazines require a paid subscription - and the library pays for yours! Get authoritative, citable information for homework and research projects. It's reliable information at your fingertips.

Academic ASAP

Academic ASAP is useful for finding full-text periodical articles on: Current Events, Economics, Education, History, Humanities, Literature and Art, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Agriculture Collection

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of hundreds of journals and magazines, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Ancestry Library

Ancestry Library provides access to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930. Updated daily.

Access is available inside the library at any of our locations.

Among specific kinds of resources included are:  

  • Census records
  • Military records
  • Court, land, and probate records
  • Immigration records
  • Periodicals and newspapers
  • Birth, marriage, and death records (including the Social Security Death Index)
  • Biography and history
  • Reference and finding aids
  • Directories and memberships

Booklist Online

Booklist Online is an online database of more than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library. See links below:

Business Economics and Theory

With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Child Development

Child Development is a full-text database of magazine and journal articles related to the field of child development.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Communications and Mass Media Collection

From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Computer Database

Computer Database contains access to periodicals on computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. It includes product reviews, industry status reports company profiles and more. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014. Updated daily.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Criminal Justice Collection

The Criminal Justice Collection provides 150 journals for those interested in a career in law, law enforcement, as a paralegal or for a career in Homeland Security.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Culinary Arts Collection

The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Diversity Studies Collection

The Diversity Studies Collection is a valuable resource for social science, history and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

eLibrary

eLibrary® is a user-friendly general reference tool—that includes 2,500 full text magazines, newspapers, books and transcript titles in addition to more than seven million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files. eLibrary®’s periodical and digital media content is designed to support every range of user, including middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can even search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. eLibrary® includes the Washington Post, the [Norfolk] Virginian-Pilot and the Roanoke Times.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library. See links below:

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection

The Environmental Studies & Policy Collection is a collection of over 800 journals. Six subject-specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Expanded Academic ASAP contains 28,999,764 scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers covering arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Many are full-text and include images. Coverage dates: 1980-present. This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Foundation Directory Online

FDO helps nonprofits and individuals find grants, scholarships, loans and more. Search this database of over 140,000 grantmakers, and find the foundations most likely to offer the kind of support you need.

Features: 

  • Search for grants, grantmakers, 990s or companies.
  • Assessment tools help you quickly identify your best potential funding sources. 
  • Detailed grantmaker profiles, including those without websites of their own.
  • “Maps and Charts” tool identifies actual giving trends in a specific program area, year or geographic area.
Inside library access only and only at the library terminals (no personal devices) – please ask a staff member to get started. Go to the Help Page or Quick Start Guide for help getting started with your search.
 

Gale Databases

The Gale Databases is a collection of over 35 subject specific databases that can be searched from a cross-searchable list of all the Gale databases.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will find current and accurate information in this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Gender Studies Collection

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

General OneFile

General OneFile provides access to periodicals and newspapers on a wide range of topics such as business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and more. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

General Reference Center Gold

General Reference Center Gold is a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

General Science Collection

The General Science Collection contains 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Health Reference Center Academic

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material is intended for informational purposes only.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Home Improvement Collection

Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting.Using this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Information Science and Library Issues Collection

This collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers - from the research specialist to the information architect - will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Insurance and Liability Collection

Protection of assets is a concern for everyone.From the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Infotrac Junior Edition

Designed for students in middle school, Infotrac Junior Edition contains 250 full-text cross searchable periodical titles, cross searchable with ebooks, and access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history sports, and more. All articles have been published between 1980 and the present.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Infotrac High School/College Edition (Student Edition)

Designed for students in high school, Infotrac High School/College Edition (Student Edition) includes over 1,300 periodical titles, with 24,200,124 articles cross searchable with E-Books, and access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Kids InfoBits (K-5)

Kids InfoBits is an educational product designed for kids in grades K-5. It's a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use full-text resource that includes access to age-appropriate book, magazine, newspaper, and reference content on a wide array of topics including current events.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library provides access to a database containing a wide range of test-prep information and practice tests including the GED (also in Spanish), ACT, SAT, AP, ASVAB, NCLEX-RN, and U.S. Citizenship. Grade-specific resources (from elementary through college) are available for parents and students for improving reading, writing, math skills and more. Our subscription also includes access to Computer & Internet Basics and Job & Career Accelerator.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

LexisNexis® Library Express

LexisNexis® Library Express provides over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources and full text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world. There are more than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters and all types of consumer reviews. Broadcast transcripts from major television, radio networks and wire services all updating several times a day.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

If outside the library, select your card format:

Literati

Literati is a rich resource that answers questions and provides information to enlighten. Live online help is available for homework. Search for images or use Mind Map for visual search results. Answers to your questions are provided with links to the electronic equivalent of the articles and definitions contained within books. A wealth of information can be found in the many videos and tutorials.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Military & Intelligence Database

Military & Intelligence Database is composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more. Coverage: 1980-present.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Morningstar

Morningstar provides up-to-date, comprehensive financial information on stock, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. It includes stock charts, portfolio building tools, independent analyst reports, and an Investing Classroom.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library. See links below:  

National Geographic Kids

Reputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings the world to children 6-14 years old in a way they've never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next? New fiction and non-fiction can be searched by author, title or subject. Features book discussion guides, reviews, award listings, and author read-alikes.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Pop Culture Collection

It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Psychology Collection

This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Reference USA

Available databases:

  • U.S. Businesses
  • Canadian Businesses
  • U.S. New Businesses
  • U.S. Standard White Pages
  • Canadian White Pages
  • U.S. Historical Businesses
  • U.S. Jobs/Internships
  • U.S. Healthcare
  • U.s. Consumers/Lifestyles
  • U.S. New Movers/Homeowners 

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

The Religion and Philosophy Collection contains 1,534,913 articles, updated daily, featuring magazines and academic journals covering religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology. Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Small Business Collection

Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Transparent Language Online

Learn to write, speak and type in over 100 languages. Get free lessons and activities for all levels of language learners, including those learning English as a second language.

Access from inside the library, from home with your library card, or download the mobile app.

U.S. History Collection

As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Value Line Research Center

Value Line is the uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information by providing the user with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. From the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line gives you the power to evaluate investments with confidence.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library. See links below:

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

War and Terrorism Collection

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

Women In History

Women in History provides over 250,000 journal articles related to women in history.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

World History Collection

As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.

Access is available inside the library and outside the library.

CCPL Resource Spotlights

E-books

e-books spotlight

Read a book anywhere, anytime for free by using CCPL's online digital library service. CCPL offers digital library services through Overdrive, Tumblebooks, Freading and One-Click.
Visit our e-books page
.

CCPL Resource Spotlights

Loud and Clear Magazine

Loud and Clear Winter 2016 cover

Find out what's happening at CCPL!
Read the magazine.
 

CCPL Resource Spotlights

CCPL has a makerspace!

Makerspace project

A makerspace is a creative area, designed for people to work together on many different projects. Learn more... 

CCPL Event Spotlights

Book Discussion Groups

Book Group Discussions_2

Share your passion for reading! Discover new reads and new friends at a library near you.

CCPL Event Spotlights

Story Times

 Story Times 

Our story times are developed by trained staff and focus on the skills every child should know so that when they enter school they are ready to learn to read.
Click here for more information. 

+ SHOW DETAILS©2017 Copyright Chesterfield County Public Library. All rights reserved.